★ Reading this for free? Get 25 structured AI courses + per-chapter AI tutor — the first chapter of every course free, no card.Start free in 30 secondsOr own it all: Lifetime $149, pay once
Image Generation

Best Local Anime Image Model: Illustrious vs NoobAI

September 27, 2026
14 min read
LocalAimaster Research Team

Want to go deeper than this article?

Free account unlocks the first chapter of all 25 courses — RAG, agents, MCP, voice AI, MLOps, real GitHub repos.

📚AI Learning Path

Go from reading about AI to building with AI 25 structured courses. Hands-on projects. Runs on your machine. Start free.

Start free
Or own it for life — Lifetime $149, pay once

Short answer: on 8GB, download Animagine XL 4.0 if you want commercial rights and forgiving defaults, Illustrious XL v1.0 if you want the largest LoRA ecosystem and native 1536x1536, and NoobAI XL 1.1 if you want the deepest booru tag coverage and can live with a non-commercial licence. All three are SDXL checkpoints of much the same size — 6.94GB for Illustrious and Animagine, 7.11GB for NoobAI, per the Hugging Face file listings. The fourth option, Anima, is a ~2.9B model with community GGUF quants as small as 1.02GB — the only one of the four that fits 8GB comfortably rather than barely.

But the model you pick is probably not why your output looks bad. The prompt syntax is not transferable between these bases, and nobody says so on the download page. You grabbed a 6.5GB Illustrious merge, pasted in the prompt that worked on your last checkpoint, and got mush. That is not a bad model. That is four different tag vocabularies wearing the same file extension.

This page is the comparison the SERP does not have: what each base actually wants in the prompt box, which licence lets you sell the output, and honest 8GB arithmetic — including a clear statement of what we did not measure.


The Verdict First

Pick by constraint, not by which one is "best" — they are close enough in quality that the licence and the prompt style decide it.

If you want…DownloadWhy
To sell what you generate, no lawyer requiredAnimagine XL 4.0CreativeML Open RAIL++-M — permits commercial use
The biggest LoRA and merge ecosystemIllustrious XL v1.0Its own HF page counts 92 finetunes and 98 merges built on it
Native high resolutionIllustrious XL v1.0Card states native 1536x1536; the others are 1024-class
Deepest tag coverage, artist stylesNoobAI XL 1.1Trained on Danbooru (to ~2024-10-23) and e621-2024
To actually fit 8GB with room to spareAnima (GGUF)~2.9B params; Q4_K_M quant is 1.38GB
Newest knowledge of recent charactersAnimaModel card states a July 2026 knowledge cutoff

Reading articles is good. Building is better.

Free account = the first chapter of all 25 courses, with a per-chapter AI tutor. No card.

Why Your Output Is Mush

These are booru-tag models, and a tag model given a sentence has almost nothing to condition on. SDXL-derived anime checkpoints were finetuned on images captioned with comma-separated Danbooru or e621 tags plus a quality-tier vocabulary. Type "a beautiful anime girl standing in the rain, highly detailed, cinematic" and you are describing an image in a language the finetune spent very little of its budget learning.

Three specific failure modes, in the order they usually bite:

1. No quality tags. Booru datasets are mostly mediocre art, because the internet is. Finetunes encode that with a tier vocabulary so you can steer away from the mean. NoobAI 1.1's card ties its tiers to popularity percentiles — masterpiece above the 95th percentile, best quality 85th-95th, good quality 60th-85th, normal quality 30th-60th, worst quality at or below the 30th. Omit them and you get the 50th percentile of Danbooru. That is your mush.

2. Wrong CFG for the base. Animagine XL 4.0 recommends CFG 4-7, 5 preferred, at 25-28 steps with Euler Ancestral. NoobAI 1.1 recommends CFG 5-6, 25-30 steps, Euler a. Anima recommends CFG 3.5-5 at 28-50 steps. Arriving from photoreal SDXL work at CFG 7.5 puts you above all three, and over-CFG on an anime finetune looks exactly like "deformed and oversaturated."

3. Missing the negative prompt. These cards publish one for a reason. Animagine's is long and specific: lowres, bad anatomy, bad hands, text, error, missing finger, extra digits, fewer digits, cropped, worst quality, low quality, low score, bad score, average score, signature, watermark, username, blurry. NoobAI's includes furry/anthro terms (mammal, anthro, furry, ambiguous form, feral, semi-anthro) precisely because it also trained on e621 — a detail that will surprise you if you skip it.

If your setup itself is the problem rather than the prompt, start with our Stable Diffusion local install guide; if generations fail rather than disappoint, ComfyUI's full guide covers the workflow layer.


The Four Bases, Compared

Every figure below comes from the official model card or Hugging Face repository listing, fetched August 2026. Nothing here is our own benchmark.

Illustrious XL v1.0NoobAI XL 1.1Animagine XL 4.0Anima (2.9B community build)
PublisherOnomaAIResearchLaxharCagliostro LabCircleStone Labs base; 2.9B expansion by gazingstars
BaseSDXLIllustrious XL (via noobai-XL-1.0)Stable Diffusion XL 1.0NVIDIA Cosmos-Predict2-2B-Text2Image
Checkpoint size6.94GB7.11GB6.94GB~2.9B params; GGUF 1.02-2.24GB
Licencesdxl-license (HF tag)fair-ai-public-license-1.0-sdCreativeML Open RAIL++-MCircleStone Labs Non-Commercial
Commercial outputCheck licenceCommercial prohibitionPermittedPermitted (outputs exempt)
Native resolution1536x1536 (512-1536 range)832x1216 / ~1024² area1024x1024 and SDXL aspect set812x1216, 1152x1536
CFGNot stated on card5-64-7 (5 rec.)3.5-5
StepsNot stated on card25-3025-28 (28 rec.)28-50
SamplerNot stated on cardEuler aEuler AncestralEuler / Res-multistep
Training dataKnowledge to June 2024Danbooru to ~2024-10-23 + e621-20248.4M images, cutoff 7 Jan 2025+1.7M anime/illustration samples, cutoff July 2026
HF downloads/monthNot tracked95,298257,08723,202 (2.9B) / 816,639 (base Anima)

A few things that table makes obvious. These are not four independent models — NoobAI is a finetune of Illustrious, which is a finetune of SDXL, so their tag vocabularies overlap heavily even though their recommended prefixes differ. Anima is the genuine outlier: a different architecture lineage entirely (NVIDIA's Cosmos-Predict2), a much smaller parameter count, and the only one with a 2026 knowledge cutoff.

And the download numbers are worth reading carefully. Animagine XL 4.0's 257,087 monthly downloads is real distribution. The base Anima's 816,639 downloads and 2.09k likes make it the most-pulled of the group — but that is the 2B base, not the 2.9B depth-expanded derivative in this table, which sits at 23,202.


Prompt Syntax Per Model

This is the section the rest of the internet skips. Each card publishes a different template, and using the wrong one is the single biggest quality lever available to you.

Animagine XL 4.0 — strict ordering

The card gives the order explicitly:

1girl/1boy/1other, character name, from which series, rating,
everything else in any order, end with quality enhancement

Its quality vocabulary is masterpiece, best quality, low quality, worst quality, and it carries a separate score-tag scale: high score, great score, good score, average score, bad score, low score. Those are two different knobs, and both belong in the prompt. Settings: Euler a, 28 steps, CFG 5, 1024x1024 or one of the published aspect ratios.

NoobAI XL 1.1 — prefix, then structure

The card's recommended prefix is verbatim:

masterpiece, best quality, newest, absurdres, highres, safe,

Then its caption structure: character count, series, artists, special tags, general tags, other tags. The distinctive piece is date tags — old (2005-2010), early (2011-2014), mid (2014-2017), recent (2018-2020), newest (2021-2024). Putting newest in your prefix is what pulls the style toward contemporary booru art rather than a 2008 average. Animagine has no equivalent tag, so that word is doing nothing for you there. Settings: Euler a, 25-30 steps, CFG 5-6, 832x1216.

Illustrious XL v1.0 — the flexible one

Illustrious's card is the least prescriptive: it describes support for "advanced natural language processing with concise Danbooru tag-based prompts," and says you can use plain English descriptions, precise tags, or both. That flexibility is why so much of the ecosystem is built on it — and also why "just prompt it normally" advice about Illustrious gets copy-pasted onto NoobAI, where it does not hold. The card publishes no recommended CFG or step count, so start where its descendants sit (CFG 5-6, ~28 steps) and tune.

Anima — detail over brevity

Anima's guidance is blunt: "THE MORE DETAILED THE PROMPT, THE BETTER." The recommended components are quality tags, year/period tags, artist tags, character count, character tags in Danbooru/Gelbooru format, series/copyright tags, and base appearance. Note that this is still a tag-flavoured model rather than a pure natural-language one — the difference is prompt length and specificity, not a switch to prose. Its card also notes that no score tags were included in training, so the score vocabulary you learned on Animagine is dead weight here. Settings: Euler or Res-multistep, sgm-uniform / beta / linear-quadratic scheduler, 28-50 steps, CFG 3.5-5, 812x1216 or 1152x1536 (the card flags 1536x1536 as "iffy").

The practical rule: keep four saved prompt templates, not one. Swapping checkpoints without swapping template is how a perfectly good 7GB download gets written off as broken.


Own it instead of renting it

Run this on your own machine and stop paying every month

Pay once and keep it. No renewal, no per-token bill, and nothing you feed it ever leaves your hardware.

The Licence Trap

Three of these four models restrict something, and the restrictions are not the same shape. Read this before you build a business on one.

Animagine XL 4.0 — CreativeML Open RAIL++-M. The permissive option of the group. OpenRAIL++-M allows commercial use subject to the licence's behavioural use restrictions. If you want the least friction between generating and selling, this is the download.

NoobAI XL 1.1 — fair-ai-public-license-1.0-sd. Carries a commercial prohibition and an open-source-derivative requirement. If you finetune or merge it, the licence has opinions about what you must publish. This is the trap that catches people who assume "on Hugging Face" means "free to use commercially."

Anima — CircleStone Labs Non-Commercial License, with a genuinely useful carve-out that the card states plainly: "The non-commercial restriction applies only to the Model, and not to Outputs." Selling images, accepting paid commissions and using generated imagery as assets in commercial products are explicitly permitted. What is restricted is the weights — API hosting, paid platforms, embedding the model in a monetised product. Licensing enquiries go to the contact address on the model card. So: you can sell the art, you cannot sell access to the model.

Illustrious XL v1.0 is tagged sdxl-license on Hugging Face, with no separate LICENSE file in the repository listing. Given the size of the Illustrious merge ecosystem, this is the one where you most need to check the specific file rather than the base.

The merge problem applies to all four. The checkpoint you downloaded from a model-sharing site is very likely a merge of two or more of these, and a merge does not get to pick the most permissive parent's terms. Whatever it says on the file you actually have is what governs you. We are not lawyers and this is not legal advice — it is a prompt to go read the licence attached to your download.


What Actually Runs on 8GB

The arithmetic, stated as arithmetic — we did not benchmark these on an 8GB card, and we are not going to pretend otherwise.

The three SDXL checkpoints are 6.9-7.1GB fp16 files — 6.94GB for Illustrious-XL-v1.0 and animagine-xl-4.0, 7.11GB for NoobAI-XL-v1.1, read off the Hugging Face repository listings. Loading fp16 weights of that size onto an 8GB card leaves roughly a gigabyte for the VAE decode, both text encoders, the latents, the sampler's working memory, and whatever your display is already holding. That is not a comfortable margin — it is the margin where a resolution bump or a second LoRA tips you into out-of-memory.

What to check on your own card, in this order:

  • Resolution first. 1536x1536 is 2.25x the pixel area of 1024x1024, and latent and attention memory scale with area. If Illustrious OOMs at native resolution on 8GB, that is expected — generate at 1024 and upscale.
  • Weight precision second. fp8 weights roughly halve the checkpoint's footprint versus fp16. This is the standard 8GB move for SDXL-class models and it costs some quality.
  • Offloading third. Sequential CPU offload will make almost anything fit, at a speed cost that is severe rather than mild. It is a fallback, not a plan.
  • VAE tiling for the decode step, which is often where the OOM actually happens rather than during sampling.

Anima is the honest 8GB answer. At ~2.9B parameters with community GGUF quants — Q3_K_M at 1.02GB, Q4_K_S 1.27GB, Q4_K_M 1.38GB, Q5_K_M 1.56GB, Q6_K 1.74GB, Q8_0 2.24GB — it is not close to filling an 8GB card. The quant repo's own instructions are to install the ComfyUI-GGUF custom nodes, place the files in ComfyUI/models/unet/, and load with the Unet-Loader (GGUF) node, with the text encoder and VAE taken from the original Anima release. We have not run this ourselves, and one caveat is load-bearing: those GGUF quants are published against the 2B base Anima, not the 2.9B depth-expanded build. Verify which weights you are pulling before you plan around the file sizes.

For general-purpose 8GB picks outside the anime niche, our best Stable Diffusion model for 8GB VRAM page covers the wider field, and best GPU for image generation covers what changes when you move up a tier.


Which One Should You Download

One model, one weekend, one prompt template. Do not download three at once — that is how you end up with 21GB of checkpoints and no idea which one was good.

  • First anime checkpoint ever, 8GB card: Animagine XL 4.0. The clearest documentation of the four, published settings that work at their defaults, and a licence you do not have to think about.
  • You want a specific character or style LoRA: Illustrious XL v1.0, because that is where the ecosystem lives — its HF page counts 11 adapters, 92 finetunes and 98 merges. If your LoRA is Illustrious-based, the base matters more than your preference does. Training your own is covered in our image LoRA training guide.
  • You want obscure characters and artist styles: NoobAI XL 1.1, for the Danbooru-to-late-2024 plus e621 coverage. Accept the non-commercial licence going in.
  • You are VRAM-poor or want post-2024 knowledge: Anima, via GGUF, with the provenance caveats above.
  • You also want photoreal output: none of these. Anime finetunes trade photoreal ability away deliberately — see best local image models compared for FLUX and Qwen, or SDXL vs FLUX for the architecture trade-off. If your interest is uncensored generation specifically, that is a different page.

Whatever you pick, generating at 1024 and running a dedicated upscale pass beats fighting your card for native 1536 — our local AI image upscaling guide covers the tools.


What We Did Not Test

Being direct about the gaps, because a comparison page that hides them is worth less than one that does not:

  • No side-by-side generations of our own. We did not run a matched prompt through all four bases at matched steps and CFG. Every settings and syntax figure on this page is quoted from the official model card, attributed, and dated — not measured by us. Take the prompt-format guidance as authoritative (it is the publisher's own) and the aesthetic ranking as absent, which it is on purpose.
  • No 8GB VRAM measurement. The 6.94GB and 7.11GB figures are file sizes from Hugging Face, and the memory discussion is arithmetic plus the standard mitigations. We have not measured peak VRAM at 1024 or at 1536x1536 on an 8GB card.
  • No confirmation that Anima's GGUF quants load in ComfyUI. The loader instructions above are the quant repo's own. And the quants target the 2B base rather than the 2.9B build, which is exactly the sort of mismatch that produces a confusing failure.
  • Anima's provenance is thinner than the others'. The 2.9B build is a single-uploader "preview-v1" derivative. The base it comes from is not thin at all — 816,639 monthly downloads, 2.09k likes, published in collaboration with Comfy Org — but the depth-expanded derivative is community work and should be treated as such.
  • NoobAI 1.1 is not the newest NoobAI. A later v-prediction variant exists (noobai-XL-Vpred-1.0, dated November 2025). We kept 1.1 in the comparison because v-pred checkpoints require explicit tooling support and are a different setup problem.

Sources

  • cagliostrolab/animagine-xl-4.0 — licence, prompt ordering, quality and score tags, CFG/steps/sampler, resolutions, negative prompt, 6.94GB file, 8.4M-image dataset with a 7 January 2025 knowledge cutoff, 257,087 downloads last month (fetched August 2026)
  • Laxhar/noobai-XL-1.1 — fair-ai-public-license-1.0-sd, base lineage, Danbooru/e621 training range, prefix and negative prompt, quality percentile tiers, date tags, CFG 5-6 / 25-30 steps, 7.11GB file, 95,298 downloads last month
  • OnomaAIResearch/Illustrious-XL-v1.0 — sdxl-license tag, native 1536x1536, prompt flexibility, June 2024 knowledge, 6.94GB checkpoint, adapter/finetune/merge counts
  • circlestone-labs/Anima and Gazingstars123/Anima-2.9B — licence terms including the outputs carve-out, parameter counts, Cosmos-Predict2 lineage, prompting guidance, settings, July 2026 cutoff, download and like counts
  • Abiray/Anima-base-v1.0-GGUF — GGUF quant sizes and the ComfyUI-GGUF loader instructions

FAQ

🎯
AI Learning Path

Go from reading about AI to building with AI

25 structured courses. Hands-on projects. Runs on your machine. Start free.

Or own it for life — Lifetime $149 $599, pay once

Liked this? 25 full AI courses are waiting.

From fundamentals to RAG, agents, MCP servers, voice AI, and production deployment with real GitHub repos. First chapter free, every course.

Reading now
Join the discussion
TagsAnimeIllustrious XLNoobAIAnimagine XLAnimaSDXL8GB VRAMLicensing

LocalAimaster Research Team

Local AI Master writes hands-on courses and hardware guides for running AI on machines you own. Content is checked against current releases and corrected when readers tell us it is wrong.

Build Real AI on Your Machine

RAG, agents, NLP, vision, and MLOps - chapters across 25 courses that take you from reading about AI to building AI.

Want the structured version?

Hands-on courses on local AI, from $8.99 a month. The first chapter of each is free.

AI Learning Path

Comments (0)

No comments yet. Be the first to share your thoughts!

Why does my Illustrious or NoobAI model produce blurry, deformed output?

Nine times out of ten you are prompting it like a photoreal model. These are Danbooru-tag models: they were trained on comma-separated booru tags with a quality-tier vocabulary, not on sentences. NoobAI XL 1.1's own model card recommends the prefix "masterpiece, best quality, newest, absurdres, highres, safe," — without something like that the model has no signal for which quality tier you want, and it will happily give you the bottom of the distribution, because most of the training data lives there. The second most common cause is CFG: NoobAI 1.1 recommends CFG 5-6 and 25-30 steps, and running it at the CFG 7-8 you use for SDXL photoreal will burn the image.

Can I use the same prompt on Illustrious, NoobAI and Animagine?

No, and this is the thing nobody tells you. Animagine XL 4.0 wants a specific ordering: "1girl/1boy/1other, character name, from which series, rating, everything else in any order and end with quality enhancement," with its own quality tags (masterpiece, best quality) and a separate score-tag vocabulary (high score, great score, and so on). NoobAI 1.1 uses a caption structure of character count, series, artists, special tags, general tags, other tags, plus date tags (newest, recent, mid, early, old) that Animagine does not have. Illustrious XL v1.0 is the loosest — its card says it supports plain English descriptions, precise tags, or both. Anima wants long, heavily detailed prompts at low CFG. A prompt tuned for one will underperform on the others.

Which anime model can I use commercially?

Animagine XL 4.0 is the clean answer: it ships under CreativeML Open RAIL++-M, which permits commercial use subject to the licence's use restrictions. NoobAI XL 1.1 is fair-ai-public-license-1.0-sd, which carries a commercial prohibition and an open-source-derivative requirement — read it before you build anything on it. Anima is under the CircleStone Labs Non-Commercial License, but with an important nuance stated on the model card: the non-commercial restriction applies to the model, not to outputs, and selling images, paid commissions and use as assets in commercial products are explicitly allowed. Illustrious-XL-v1.0 is tagged sdxl-license on Hugging Face. None of this is legal advice, and merges complicate all of it — check the licence on the specific file you downloaded, not on the base it claims.

Will these run on an 8GB GPU?

The three SDXL-based checkpoints — Illustrious-XL-v1.0, NoobAI XL 1.1 and Animagine XL 4.0 — are 6.9-7.1GB fp16 files (6.94GB, 7.11GB and 6.94GB respectively, per the Hugging Face file listings). Loaded in fp16 that is already close to an 8GB card's budget before you add the VAE, the text encoders, the latents and whatever your desktop is using. In practice people run them on 8GB with fp8 or GGUF weights and sequential CPU offload, which trades speed for fitting. Anima is the interesting one here: at ~2.9B parameters with community GGUF quants from 1.02GB (Q3_K_M) to 2.24GB (Q8_0), it fits an 8GB card with room to spare. We have not benchmarked these on an 8GB card ourselves, so treat the fp16 arithmetic as the floor, not a measurement.

Is Illustrious really 1536x1536?

Yes, per the model card. Illustrious-XL-v1.0 states native 1536x1536 support and a working range from 512x512 up to 1536x1536 including non-standard resolutions. That is a genuine differentiator against Animagine XL 4.0, whose recommended resolutions are the standard SDXL set (1024x1024 square, 1216x832 and 1152x896 landscape, 832x1216 and 896x1152 portrait). It is also the setting most likely to push an 8GB card into out-of-memory: 1536x1536 is 2.25x the pixel area of 1024x1024, and latent memory scales with area.

Is NoobAI 1.1 still the current version?

Not quite. On the Laxhar Hugging Face organisation, noobai-XL-1.1 is dated September 2025 and a later variant, noobai-XL-Vpred-1.0, is dated November 2025. The v-pred model uses a v-prediction parameterisation, which needs explicit support in your UI — it is not a drop-in swap for an eps-prediction checkpoint and it is a common source of "the model is broken" reports that are really a config problem. Start on 1.1 if you want the path of least resistance; move to the v-pred variant only once your tooling handles it.

Ready to Go Beyond Tutorials?

25 structured courses with hands-on chapters - build RAG chatbots, AI agents, and ML pipelines on your own hardware.

Bonus kit

Local AI Prompt Pack

Ready-made prompt templates so you stop rewriting the same setup for every checkpoint. Included with paid plans, or free after subscribing to both Local AI Master and Little AI Master on YouTube.

See Plans →

Was this helpful?

📅 Published: September 27, 2026🔄 Last Updated: September 27, 2026✓ Manually Reviewed
LM

Written by the Local AI Master Team

The team behind Local AI Master

We build Local AI Master around practical, testable local AI workflows: model selection, hardware planning, RAG systems, agents, and MLOps. The goal is to turn scattered tutorials into a structured learning path you can follow on your own hardware.

✓ Local AI Curriculum✓ Hands-On Projects✓ Open Source Contributor
📚
Free · no account required

Grab the AI Starter Kit — career roadmap, cheat sheet, setup guide

No spam. Unsubscribe with one click.

🎯
AI Learning Path

Go from reading about AI to building with AI

25 structured courses. Hands-on projects. Runs on your machine. Start free.

Or own it for life — Lifetime $149 $599, pay once
Free Tools & Calculators